Home | About Us | Current Leadership

Current Leadership

Greg Small
Greg was invited by then USDA, NRCS Coordinator Ed McConoughey in Jan. 1997 to fill the secretary position left vacant by Cynthia Eckstein, who had just died. Erie Basin RC&D had accomplished many good things since it Incorporated in Oct. 1991. RC&Ds were a Program of the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (US Soil Conservation service); therefore, most Services Provided were FREE. Federal dollars paid for employees, space, phones, all office supplies, etc. – As a nonprofit corp., it became understandable when I came on in March 1997 (thru Weststaff employment service) that Erie Basin would need to earn financial support to help pay my wages. (NRCS provided $15,000 each year for a private employee to be hired) It was very fortunate that Ed new how to be frugal and make money; so, I knew it was going to be a little sparse on the family income side of things – it would be supplemental income since I retired from USDA Rural Development on 11/30/1996. Cary Brickner, Manager of Huron County Soil and Water Conservation, also hired me to help in the office. I was able to work 20 hours per week with them and 20 hours per week with Erie Basin. I had No Idea what I would be doing when I retired from RD, but with Faith, patience, the encouragement of Ed, Cary and a Great Council I was enabled to end up still employed to this day --- ONE JOB CREATED! I earned a Bachelors in Agronomy from OSU and started with USDA Farmers Home Adm. 5/4/1970 (50 years ago); retired 26 years later from USDA RD; 15 years with Huron SWCD along with 23 years of serving the Erie Basin Council; and, still going. My wife Linda and I have 4 adult siblings & 5 Grand Children doing well and have taken on the challenge of raising our Great Nephew (3 years now and a good reason to keep on enjoying the good work of “Making Things Happen”). 😊
Angie Palmer
Technical Adviser - Website/Social Media
Angie joined Erie Basin RC&D as our Technical Adviser for the office website in January 2011 after spending five years with the USDA as their Technical Service Provider. During her time as Technical Service Provider, she created a number of conservation maps for the USDA local offices in Ohio. She is also in charge of social media for Erie Basin. Angie has an Associates Degree Applied Business in Business & Administration Management from Lorain County Community College. During her spare time she enjoys listening to music, searching the net and watching the Cleveland Browns and The Ohio State Buckeyes Football.

Executive Committee

wdt_ID Name Title County
1 Jim Sass President Ottawa County
2 Kurt Heyman Vice President Erie County
3 Carol Knapp Secretary / Treasurer Huron County
4 Janet Dell Freeman Trustee Seneca County
5 Doug Weisenauer Trustee Crawford County
6 Gary Bauer Trustee Huron County

Council Members

wdt_ID County Member - SWCD Member Commissioner Member at Large
1 Ashland Alt. Erica White Denny Bittle Aaron Pauly
2 Crawford Larry Leonhardt Doug Weisenauer Gary Frankhouse
3 Erie Kurt Heyman Matt Old/Alt. Carrie Whitaker Tim King/Alt. Carrie Whitaker
4 Huron John Ganz/Alt. Alisa Highlander Gary Bauer Carol A. Knapp
5 Ottawa Mike Libben/Alt. Becky Simpson Mark Coppeler James Sass
6 Richland Alt. Erica Thomas Darrell Banks Michalina Lacy
7 Sandusky David Warner Charles Schwochow Ron House
8 Seneca Alt. Dawn Mizen Tyler Shuff Janet Dell Freeman
9 Wood Bernie Scott Theodore Bowlus
10 Wyandot Larry Passet Joyce Morehart Don Schilling